Can a Mississippi lender legally charge triple-digit interest on an installment loan? Yes. Mississippi runs three separate legal tracks for consumer installment loans. The one a lender uses decides whether your rate tops out near 36%, at 59%, or above 300%.

The Mississippi Department of Banking and Consumer Finance (DBCF) licenses lenders on all three. If you are buying a home, the track matters twice. It sets what the loan costs you, and it shapes how the loan looks to your mortgage underwriter.

Three rate tracks under one license

The Small Loan Regulatory Law. Under Miss. Code § 75-17-21, rates step down as the balance grows, the way tax brackets do. The first $1,000 can carry 36%. The portion from $1,000 to $2,500 can carry 33%, the portion from $2,500 to $5,000 can carry 24%, and anything above $5,000 can carry 14%. On loans up to $10,000, the lender may also add a closing charge of 4% of total payments or $25, whichever is greater.

The Consumer Alternative Installment Loan Act. Here a licensee may instead charge up to 59% APR. That rate applies only to loans at or below a maximum size that rises each year with inflation. A DBCF memo dated June 19, 2026 raised that ceiling from $5,220 to $5,330, effective July 1, 2026.

The Act also sets several rules for these loans:

  • The loan must be repaid in at least 9 equal monthly payments over at least 272 days.
  • No monthly payment may exceed 22.5% of your documented gross monthly income.
  • The lender cannot require automatic withdrawals or post-dated checks as a condition of the loan.

The Credit Availability Act. This is the expensive track. The National Consumer Law Center reported in 2025 that it permits APRs above 300%. SB 2495 raised the maximum balance on these accounts from $2,500 to $3,250, effective July 1, 2025, and indexed that limit to inflation. The same bill extended the law's expiration date from July 1, 2026 to July 1, 2030. None of these sources gives the 2026 inflation-adjusted balance.

Rule Small Loan Regulatory Law Alternative Installment Loan Act Credit Availability Act
Maximum loan No single cap; the 14% tier runs above $5,000 $5,330 (from July 1, 2026) $3,250 (from July 1, 2025, then indexed)
Rate cap 36% down to 14% by tier, plus closing charge 59% APR Above 300% APR (NCLC, 2025)
Minimum term Not set in these sources 9 monthly payments, 272 days Not set in these sources
Deferrals 2 per 12 months Not stated in these sources Not stated in these sources

Who can lend, including online

Every lender on these tracks needs a Small Loan Privilege Tax Law license. It must also keep a physical office in Mississippi, with a separate license for each office, so an online lender needs a Mississippi office too. Lenders apply through NMLS, the national licensing system for lenders. The license costs $750, and the lender must post a $1,000 surety bond. DBCF publishes a list of licensed lenders.

Your loan agreement must say the business is licensed and regulated by DBCF. If that statement is missing, treat it as a warning sign.

The penalties for overcharging are real. A lender that charges more than the legal maximum loses its finance charges. A lender that charges more than double the maximum also loses the principal and faces a misdemeanor charge.

These sources do not say whether lenders use bank partnerships or tribal status to operate outside Mississippi's rules.

Not a payday loan, and not a credit union loan

A payday loan is a different product. A September 2026 consumer summary puts it at a $500 limit, a 30-day term and no rollovers. Our page on Mississippi payday loan rules covers it.

Credit unions are exempt from the Small Loan Regulatory Law, so these caps do not set their prices. Ask your credit union for its small-loan APR and compare it against the tracks above. These sources name no Mississippi assistance programs.

What an underwriter sees

An open installment loan shows up in your mortgage file in three places:

  • Bank statements. The deposit and each monthly payment appear as debits.
  • Debt-to-income ratio. The payment is usually counted in this ratio, which compares your monthly debts to your income.
  • Letter of explanation. A new account often triggers a request for a written explanation of what the loan was for.

Paying the loan off before you apply removes the payment from the ratio. How your lender treats a recent payoff varies, so ask your loan officer before you borrow. If you pay a small-loan-law loan off early, the law requires a refund of unearned finance charges.